Engineering Honor Society Tau Beta Pi Inducts Newest Members

TBP 2017Tau Beta Pi, the engineering honor society, inducted 32 new members into the Rhode Island Alpha chapter at Brown University on Friday, December 8. Eighteen juniors were inducted along with 14 seniors.


Among the 18 juniors elected were: Isabelle Bauman, Allison Bellows, Jessica Bellows, Jacob Benheim, Aaron Brown, Reed Brown, Aaron Charous, Eric Chaykovsky, Yale Friend, Henry Kim, Cameron McKie, Amanda Morel, Zachary Neronha, Aaron Ray, Kayli Sarpu, Jonathan Vexler, Gabriel Weedon and Daniel Yang.

The 14 seniors elected included: Adil Akif, Todd Ashley, Brandon Barry, Daniel Bronstein, Erik Danie, Joshua Greene, Mark Hays, Liesl Jaeger, Anand Lalwani, Naryan Murthy, Giorgio Savini Zangrandi, Anna Seto, Adarsh Sridhar Narayanan and Franklin Tarte.

Tau Beta Pi, founded in 1885, is the second oldest Greek-letter honor society in America; the oldest is Phi Beta Kappa. While Phi Beta Kappa is restricted to students in the liberal arts, Tau Beta Pi is designed to "offer appropriate recognition for superior scholarship and exemplary character to students in engineering."

In order to be inducted into the prestigious honor society, juniors must rank in the top eighth of their class and seniors must rank in the top fifth of their class. Graduate students who have completed at least 50% of their degree requirements and who rank in the top fifth of their class are also eligible to become candidates for membership.

The Rhode Island Alpha chapter is not only an honor society to pay tribute to outstanding students, but it also provides a vehicle for these students to assume a role of leadership at Brown and to be of distinctive service. Tau Beta Pi members lead prospective engineering student tours of Barus and Holley and the new Engineering Research Center, provide tutoring to freshmen and sophomores, and are active in a variety of other engineering student organizations.