The mission of the DEI committee is to create a more equitable, diverse, and welcoming place to learn, to work, and to conduct multidisciplinary research across intellectual boundaries.


The goal of the DEI committee is to advise the School of Engineering dean on DEI matters in strategy and programming, to advocate for all members in the SOE community, and to actively implement initiatives to achieve the long-term goals defined in the DEI strategic plan.

Contact Us

For questions or concerns about diversity, equity, and inclusion within the School of Engineering, please contact a member of the committee at DEI_Engineering@brown.edu.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

  • Beth Altringer

    Beth Altringer

    Program Director, Master of Arts in Design Engineering (MADE), Professor of the Practice
  • Kareen Coulombe

    Kareen Coulombe

    Associate Professor of Engineering
  • David Henann

    David Henann

    James R. Rice Associate Professor of Engineering
  • Banu Ozkazanc-Pan

    Banu Ozkazanc-Pan

    Academic Director, IE Brown EMBA, Barrett Hazeltine Associate Professor of the Practice of Engineering
  • Yue Qi

    Yue Qi

    Joan Wernig Sorensen Professor of Engineering, Deputy Director, Initiative for Sustainable Energy (ISE)
  • Anubhav Tripathi

    Anubhav Tripathi

    Professor of Engineering, Chair, DEI Advisory Committee