Engineering’s Soepriatna named Postdoctoral Excellence Award winner

Brown University’s selection committee for its Postdoctoral Excellence Awards has announced School of Engineering postdoctoral research Arvin Soepriatna as one of two winners of the Research/Teaching award “for excellence in scholarship as researchers and/or teachers."

Arvin Soepriatna
Arvin Soepriatna

Soepriatna was honored, as well as Natasha Sekhon from the Institute at Brown for Environment and Society, with the award. The awardee for the Postdoctoral Excellence Awards for Community was Felix Chan from Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, and Biochemistry.

Soepriatna was noted for his “critical and forward-thinking mindset, an outstanding work ethic, and a deep passion for both research and mentoring.” His research involving tissue engineering, electrophysiology, and cardiac arrhythmias has won him a number of recognitions, including a fellowship from the American Heart Association and selection as a 2021 Rising Star in Engineering in Health by Columbia University and Johns Hopkins University. He was also recognized for his patience, dedication, and positivity as a mentor to students in the lab, and contributions toward lecturing.

“Arvin’s enthusiastic leadership in experimental research, computation, and mentoring in my lab and across biomedical engineering has amplified the impact of our technologies in cardiac tissue engineering and enriched the scientific community here at Brown,” said Associate Professor Kareen Coulombe, whose lab specializes in cardiovascular regenerative engineering to address global needs to develop novel therapies for cardiovascular disease. 

This is the inaugural year of the Postdoctoral Excellence Awards, which are supported by the Office of University Postdoctoral Affairs. Close to 70 nominations from faculty, staff, students, and postdoc peers were received by the selection committee, which was impressed by the number of worthy nominees, the scope of achievements that were described, and the expressions of appreciation and support from the nominators.